A clienteling app for Shopify gives each sales associate a working file on every customer — purchase history pulled from POS and online orders, the notes they took on the floor, sizes and preferences — plus a way to reach that customer one-to-one by text, email, or WhatsApp with products they can buy straight from the message, and then credits the resulting sale back to the associate who sent it. On Shopify in September 2026 that job is done by four dedicated apps (Endear, BSPK, GettingKinder, and Tulip, which absorbed Salesfloor in March), by Shopify POS Pro’s own customer profiles and staff attribution if your needs are modest, or by a lightweight curated-send tool if you sell one-to-one but have no store floor at all.
This guide is written for retail brands with associates — single boutiques, multi-store chains, luxury and premium — and for the small teams who do the same one-to-one selling over text and DMs without a store. We build and run Shopify apps, including one that covers the curated-send slice of this workflow, so we have watched where clienteling software earns its price and where it sits unopened on an iPad in the back room. Every price and feature below comes from the App Store listing or vendor page linked next to it, checked this month.
The one-line version: if you have associates on a floor, buy a clienteling CRM and expect to pay per location, not per seat; if you are one or two people selling by text, buy the send-and-track layer and keep your customer notes in Shopify. The rest of this post is how to tell which of those you are, what to verify before you pay, and how to know afterwards whether it worked.
Key takeaways
- Clienteling is one-to-one, associate-initiated, and attributed. If a tool sends to a segment it is CRM marketing; if an algorithm picks the products it is personalization. Neither is clienteling.
- Shopify POS Pro ($89/month per location) already gives you customer profiles, staff-only notes and tags, and sales attribution to associates. Know that ceiling before paying $350 or more a month for a dedicated app.
- Pricing models differ more than feature lists do: Endear prices per store location from $350/month, GettingKinder lists at $49–$64/month, BSPK starts at $299/month on custom plans, Tulip is quote-only. Count your locations and your associates before you compare.
- Attach rate — the share of transactions with a customer profile on them — is the metric that predicts whether everything else works. Fix it first.
- CurateList, our own app, is a personal shopper layer (curated sends, reactions, per-list attribution), not a clienteling CRM: no customer profiles beyond the list, no POS integration, no per-associate seats.
What clienteling actually is — and what it is not
Shopify’s own definition is the tightest one in circulation: clienteling software is “a retail tool that helps sales associates build personal relationships with customers through one-to-one selling.” Three words in that sentence do the work. Associates: a named person, not a system, initiates the contact. One-to-one: the message goes to a single customer and references something specific about them. Selling: the point is an order, and the order has to be traceable back to the person who caused it.
Every clienteling tool, whether it costs $49 or is priced by quote, is built around the same three loops. Know — a profile that shows what this customer bought, returned, and told you. Reach — a channel from that profile to the customer, with something shoppable attached. Credit — attribution that ties the order back to the associate and the message. When we evaluate a tool, we score those three loops separately, because vendors are uneven across them: some have a superb profile and a weak send, some have a beautiful send and no attribution at all.
The economics are why anyone bothers. Tulip’s 2025 clienteling benchmark, quoted in its merger announcement with Salesfloor, puts average clienteling conversion at 11% — “more than double traditional mass marketing, with top performers reaching 37%” — and reports that customers receiving personalized outreach “make 49% more purchases and spend 63% more per month.” Those are a vendor’s numbers from its own client base, so treat them as an upper bound rather than a forecast. But the direction matches what we see: a text from a person who remembers your size converts at a different order of magnitude than a campaign email.
It is not CRM email blasting
Segmenting your customer list and sending “Our VIPs get early access” to 4,000 people is marketing automation. Useful, cheap, and a different job. The tell is the sender: a campaign comes from the brand; a clienteling message comes from Maria, who sold you the coat. Shopify’s article cites an Attentive 2025 survey of 3,300 consumers in which 81% said they ignore irrelevant marketing messages. Clienteling exists because the one message that is not irrelevant — “the navy version of the blazer you tried on is back in your size” — cannot be generated by a segment rule. Several of the apps below bundle campaign tools alongside the one-to-one tools, which is convenient, but do not buy a $350/month app to do what Shopify Email or Klaviyo already does.
It is not algorithmic recommendation
“Customers who bought this also bought” widgets, AI product feeds, and personalization engines apply to every visitor and are chosen by a model. Clienteling picks are chosen by a human who has a reason, and the reason is written down next to the product. The two can coexist on the same store, but they are different categories with different tools, and a brand that thinks it is “doing clienteling” because it installed a recommendation app has skipped the part that produces the conversion gap above. Our survey of personal shopper apps for Shopify draws the same line from the consumer side — this post is the operator’s view.
It is not just a shared inbox
Live chat and support inboxes are inbound: the customer starts the conversation, usually with a problem. Clienteling is outbound: the associate starts it, usually with an opportunity. Some platforms now wrap both — Endear ships a sales chat, Tulip has “online assisted selling” — but the core of a clienteling app is the queue of who to contact next and why, not the queue of who is waiting for a reply.
Who needs a clienteling app: three operating models
The right tool depends less on your category than on who is doing the selling. We see three models, and they want very different software.
The store-associate model
You have one or more locations, associates on the floor, and a book of customers that is currently split between an iPad, a notebook, and someone’s personal phone. The problem is not motivation; it is that when an associate leaves, the relationships leave with them, and when a customer buys online after an in-store conversation, nobody gets credit. This model needs the full stack — shared profiles, associate-owned books, POS integration so the floor transaction lands in the profile, and attribution that survives the channel switch. It is the model every dedicated clienteling app is designed for, and the model where per-location pricing makes sense: five associates sharing one store licence costs the same as one.
The founder-led boutique
One location, the owner is the best salesperson, one or two part-time staff. The owner already knows the top 100 customers by name; the gap is follow-through — new arrivals land and forty people who would want them never hear about it because the owner is on the register. This model is over-served by a $350/month platform and under-served by nothing at all. The honest answer is usually Shopify POS Pro for profiles and attribution plus a cheap send layer, and to graduate to a dedicated app only when a second location or a third associate arrives. GettingKinder’s $49 entry price was clearly designed for this tier.
DM and text selling with no floor
A stylist with 300 clients on WhatsApp. A B2B rep sending new-season picks to 40 wholesale accounts. A concierge for a jewelry brand that sells almost entirely by appointment and follow-up message. There is no POS transaction to attach, so most of what a clienteling CRM does is dead weight; the customer “profile” is the message thread itself. What this model lacks is the shoppable send and the attribution — the ability to turn “here are five things I think you’ll love” into a page the customer can buy from, and to know which of those five landed. This is the model our own app was built for, and it is the one we are most confident about because we live in it.
Who should not buy any of this. Stores with a sub-$60 average order and no repeat-purchase behaviour; stores with no one whose job includes outreach time; stores whose customer records are mostly anonymous because the register never captures a name. The third is the most common and the most fixable — it is the attach-rate problem in the measurement section — but until it is fixed, a clienteling app has nothing to work with.
What Shopify POS already does natively — and where it stops
Before paying for an app, be precise about what the platform gives you, because Shopify’s native customer tooling is further along than most merchants assume. Every Shopify customer profile stores contact details, addresses, order history, a timeline, tags, metafields, and notes that only staff can see. In the POS app, staff can create a profile from as little as a first name, last name, email, or phone number, and the same page lists notes, tags, marketing consent, and custom metafields as editable fields — so an associate can record “size 6, prefers camel, birthday in November” at the register without a third-party app.
The attribution piece is native too, with a catch: staff sales attribution is “available only for locations that are currently on the Shopify POS Pro subscription.” On POS Pro you can credit a whole sale to one staff member or individual line items to different people, choose between manual and automatic attribution at the register, and read the results in the “POS total sales by staff member” report. POS Pro is an add-on at $89 USD per month per location, billed yearly, and it also brings staff roles and permissions, unlimited staff logins, “rich customer profiles,” and the ability to set customer details as recommended or required during checkout — the single most effective attach-rate lever there is.
So for the Know and Credit loops, POS Pro covers a founder-led boutique almost entirely. Where it stops is the Reach loop and the operating layer around it. Nothing on the pages above gives an associate a queue of customers to contact, a reason to contact them, a way to text or WhatsApp them from the profile, or a shoppable page to attach to the message. There is no concept of an associate owning a book, so two people can call the same customer in the same week. And attribution happens at the register: if an associate texts a customer who then buys online that evening, the order is not credited to anyone. Those four gaps — outreach, book ownership, shoppable sends, and cross-channel attribution — are exactly what the dedicated apps sell. Buy for the gaps you have, not the ones on the feature sheet.
The capability checklist: nine things to verify before you pay
Demo scripts are designed to show the polished loop. This is the list we run against any clienteling app for store associates, in the order that failures usually surface.
- Customer profile with unified purchase history. The profile must merge POS and online orders into one timeline, sync in near real time, and show returns, not just purchases. Ask how the app matches a walk-in to an existing online customer (email? phone? card network name?) — the duplicate-profile problem is where clienteling data quietly rots.
- Associate notes that are fast to write and searchable later. A note field is table stakes; what matters is whether an associate will use it during a sale. Look for structured fields (sizes, preferences) alongside free text, mobile entry, and — increasingly — AI summaries of long note histories. GettingKinder and Endear both advertise this.
- Outreach from the profile via SMS, email, and WhatsApp. The channel your customers actually answer on is not negotiable. Luxury and international clienteles live on WhatsApp and, in Asia, WeChat and Line; domestic apparel skews SMS. Check message allowances — Endear’s $350 plan includes 4,000 emails and 3,000 SMS per month — and what overage costs.
- Curated product sends with shoppable links. A message with three product photos that the customer cannot tap to buy is a brochure. The send has to land on a page where the customer adds to cart without creating an account, and the page should look like your store. This is the capability most often demoed and least often checked against the real storefront theme.
- Attribution of remote sales to the associate. Register attribution is Shopify’s job. The app’s job is crediting the online order that followed the text, ideally with a window (the customer bought three days after the send) and a rule for conflicts (two associates messaged the same customer). Ask to see the report, not the dashboard tile.
- POS integration in both directions. Orders and customers must flow from Shopify POS into the app, and notes written in the app should be visible to the associate at the register. Every dedicated clienteling CRM below lists a Shopify POS integration, Boutiq syncs cart and checkout, and ours does not touch POS at all; for the CRMs, the question is whether associates need two apps open or one.
- Permissions and book ownership. Who can see whose customers? Can a manager reassign a book when someone leaves? Can an associate export the list (you probably want the answer to be no)? Multi-store brands also need location-scoped visibility.
- Personalized offers without leaking margin. Associates will want to close with a discount. The right mechanic is a unique, one-customer code with an expiry, generated from the tool, never a public markdown — the reasoning is in our markdown vs coupon vs bundle framework. Check whether the app can issue single-use codes and whether it reports redemptions per associate, because “closed with a 20% code” and “closed at full price” are not the same performance.
- Pricing model: per seat, per location, or per revenue. This is the line item that decides the shortlist. Endear is explicit that it is “priced per store location so your whole team can sell smarter without worrying about adding seats”. Boutiq tiers by number of associates and adds a percentage of sales. BSPK and Tulip quote. Work out your cost at your real headcount and location count, then again at double.
Shopify clienteling apps compared
Prices and review counts are as listed on the Shopify App Store or the vendor’s site on 2 September 2026; each is linked in the tool’s own section below. “Quote” means no public price is published.
| Tool | Model | Listed price | Outreach channels | Shopify POS | Associate attribution | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Endear | Clienteling CRM, per location | From $350/mo per store location; 14-day trial | Email, SMS, WhatsApp; shoppable stories and lookbooks | Yes (POS, Checkout, Flow) | Store, team, and campaign level | Multi-store apparel, beauty, jewelry on Shopify Plus |
| BSPK | Clienteling CRM, custom plan | $399/mo listed; “plans starting at $299/month” | SMS, WhatsApp, WeChat, Line, email, chat widget | Yes | By store, region, and advisor | Luxury and specialty with international clientele |
| GettingKinder | Clienteling CRM for POS teams | $49/mo Basic; $64/mo with Outreach; 14-day trial | SMS, email | Yes | Not stated on listing | Single-store and small multi-store teams |
| Tulip (incl. Salesfloor) | Enterprise clienteling suite | Quote only | Email, SMS, WeChat, WhatsApp, voice, video | Via Shopify Connector | Associate and manager dashboards | Enterprise luxury and department-store scale |
| Boutiq | Video clienteling | $90/mo + 3% of Boutiq sales (2 associates) up to $900/mo + 2.5% (40 associates) | 1:1 video, follow-up links | Cart and checkout sync | Sales and attribution analytics | High-consideration products sold by appointment |
| Shopify POS Pro (native) | Profiles + register attribution | $89/mo per location, billed yearly | None from the profile | Is the POS | Register-level, whole sale or line item | Founder-led boutiques; the base layer under any app |
| CurateList (ours) | Personal shopper send layer | Free; $7/mo Starter; $15/mo Pro | Email from the app; link into any channel | No | Per list, per curator | Stylists, small boutiques, B2B reps selling by message |
The tools, one by one
Endear
Endear is the reference clienteling app for Shopify: the one Shopify’s own article leads with, the one in the Diane von Furstenberg case study, and the most complete implementation of all three loops. The App Store listing shows a Pro plan at $350/month with 1,000,000 customer records, 4,000 emails and 3,000 SMS messages per month, per store location, plus appointments (three calendars) and sales chat, with a 14-day trial; the listing carries a 4.7 rating from 17 reviews. Its Shopify page emphasizes one-click setup with real-time sync of customers, orders, and products, unified profiles across online and POS, and a Shopify-exclusive “Shoppable Stories” format that lets customers “browse, add to cart, and purchase products directly from any text or email you send.” An AI “Opportunity Engine” ranks who each associate should contact next.
Pros: the deepest Shopify integration in the category (POS, Checkout, Flow, plus Klaviyo, Gorgias, Gladly, Attentive, and Ometria), shoppable sends built in, per-location pricing that does not punish you for adding associates, and attribution at store, team, and campaign level. Cons: $350 per location is a real number for a two-store brand, message allowances are metered with paid overage, and the platform is broad enough that a small team will pay for campaigns, appointments, and chat it does not use. Best for: multi-store apparel, beauty, and jewelry brands with a dedicated floor team and a manager who will run the outreach cadence. Pricing: from $350/month per store location, 14-day trial.
BSPK Clienteling and CRM
BSPK comes from the luxury side and it shows: the company site names Hermès, Christian Louboutin, A.P.C., Bonpoint, and J.M. Weston, and the channel list — phone and SMS, WhatsApp, WeChat, Line, email, and a chat widget — is built for clienteles that cross borders. The App Store listing shows a plan at $399/month with a note that plans start at $299/month, “unlimited messaging & emails,” segments, and Shopify collection sync, with “no charge until custom plan is created” after install; it has one review at 5.0. The product is a mobile app (iOS and Android) that syncs products, customers, and sales from Shopify and Shopify POS, with an emphasis on visual curation — photos, video, product images assembled into a send — and analytics that report outreach, conversions, repeat purchase, and revenue by store, region, and advisor. BSPK advertises a two-week go-live.
Pros: the widest messaging footprint of any Shopify app here, a visual-first send that suits fashion and jewelry, and advisor-level reporting designed for HQ oversight of many stores. Cons: pricing is custom, so the $299–$399 figures are a floor rather than a quote; one App Store review means most of its Shopify track record is off-platform; and a luxury-grade tool assumes a luxury-grade operating discipline. Best for: premium and luxury brands with international customers and a regional management layer that will read the reports. Pricing: from $299/month on a custom plan.
GettingKinder: Clienteling CRM
The newest entrant and the cheapest dedicated app. The App Store listing shows a Basic plan at $49/month and a plan with Outreach at $64/month, both with a 14-day trial, and a launch date of 15 April 2026 — which is why it has no reviews yet. It is positioned squarely as a clienteling CRM for Shopify POS teams: customer profiles with order history, preferences, and AI-summarized notes; personal shopping and virtual appointments with automated reminders; personalized SMS and email outreach; and an “AI brand assistant” that answers product, policy, and procedure questions for associates, with onboarding content for new hires. The developer is based in Australia.
Pros: the price makes a real clienteling workflow viable for a single boutique, the associate-training angle is genuinely different from the field, and it is built for POS teams rather than adapted for them. Cons: five months old with zero reviews at the time of writing, no WhatsApp on the listing, and the listing does not state how sales are attributed to associates or whether pricing scales by location — ask before you plan around it. Best for: founder-led boutiques and small multi-store teams that want profiles, notes, and outreach in one place without an enterprise contract. Pricing: $49–$64/month, 14-day trial.
Tulip — and what happened to Salesfloor
If you searched for Salesfloor and landed here: on 24 March 2026 Tulip and Salesfloor merged under the Tulip brand, with Tulip CEO Ian Rawlins leading the combined company and Salesfloor founder Oscar Sachs joining the board. The announcement puts the combined client base at approximately 100 enterprise retailers — COACH, Jimmy Choo, Macy’s, Versace, Ferragamo, Michael Kors, Pandora, Mulberry, Saks Fifth Avenue, David Yurman — and describes Salesfloor as serving over 50,000 associates in more than 70 countries. As of our check, salesfloor.net redirects to tulip.com and there is no standalone Salesfloor listing on the Shopify App Store, so Salesfloor’s associate storefronts and online assisted selling are now bought as part of Tulip.
For Shopify merchants the relevant product is the Tulip Shopify Connector, which imports the product catalog with pricing, tags, and inventory, pulls customer information and purchase history from Shopify, and feeds Tulip’s clienteling suite: omnichannel profiles, segmentation, outreach via email, SMS, WeChat, WhatsApp, voice, and video, in-store appointment booking, performance dashboards for associates and managers, and payment links for follow-up selling. Tulip advertises a four-week implementation, and its home page lists mobile POS, online assisted selling, appointments, automated outreach, and AI tools as the wider platform. No pricing is published anywhere we could find.
Pros: the broadest platform in the category, a client list that is a who’s who of luxury retail, and — post-merger — the strongest story for brands that need in-store clienteling and online assisted selling from one vendor. Cons: quote-only pricing, a four-week implementation that presumes a project team, and a scale of product that a ten-store brand will never fully use. Best for: enterprise luxury and department-store retail on Shopify Plus with a hundred-plus associates. Pricing: by quote.
Boutiq Personal Video Shopping
Boutiq is clienteling by video: one-to-one appointments or instant calls where an associate walks a customer through an interactive showroom with a cart synced to Shopify checkout. The App Store listing prices it in three tiers — LITE at $90/month plus 3% of sales made through Boutiq for two associates and 20 monthly hours, PRO at $300/month plus 2.75% for ten associates and 100 hours, and ADVANCED at $900/month plus 2.5% for forty associates and 400 hours — each with a 14-day trial, and shows a 5.0 rating from two reviews. It includes clienteling and CRM data for the team, post-call follow-up and abandoned-cart links, Klaviyo flows, and analytics covering sales, attribution, conversion, AOV, and NPS.
Pros: the only tool here where the associate is live with the customer, which is the closest online analogue to the floor; per-associate seats are explicit, so small teams know their cost. Cons: the percentage-of-sales component means the bill grows with success, and a video widget with nobody available behind it damages trust faster than no widget at all. Best for: furniture, fine jewelry, bridal, and other high-consideration categories sold by appointment. Pricing: $90–$900/month plus 2.5–3% of attributed sales.
Shopify POS Pro on its own
Worth listing as a competitor because for a meaningful share of readers it is the right answer. At $89 per month per location you get profiles with staff-only notes, tags, and metafields; required customer capture at checkout; staff roles and permissions; and sales attribution to staff by whole sale or line item with the reports to match. What you do not get is any outbound channel, any book ownership, any shoppable send, or any credit for a sale that happens online after an associate’s message. Best for: a single store whose owner does the outreach from a personal phone and wants the data foundation right before spending on software. Pricing: $89/month per location, billed yearly, on top of your Shopify plan.
CurateList (ours)
We built CurateList, so read this entry with that in mind. It is a personal shopper app, not a clienteling CRM, and the difference matters: it does one loop of the three. A curator picks products from the live catalog, writes a personal note next to each, and sends a branded shoppable page on the store’s own domain; the customer reacts “Love It” or “Not for Me” per item and adds to cart with no account; the curator sees views, reactions, and revenue per list, plus a one-click cart permalink. The App Store listing shows a Free plan with 10 lists and 5 customers a month, Starter at $7/month (100 lists, 50 customers, custom email templates, discount codes, scheduled sends, revenue analytics, no branding) with a 7-day trial, and Pro at $15/month (unlimited lists and customers, list expiration, PDF export, custom branding) with a 14-day trial. It has no App Store reviews yet.
What it does not do: there are no customer profiles beyond the list history, no purchase-history sync into a profile, no Shopify POS integration, no associate books or per-associate seats, and no SMS or WhatsApp sending — you copy the link into whatever channel the customer is on. If you have a floor team, CurateList is the send layer you put next to POS Pro or under a CRM, not a replacement for either. Best for: solo stylists, small boutiques, and B2B reps whose selling happens in message threads and whose missing piece is the shoppable, attributable send. Pricing: Free, $7/month, $15/month.
One listing you may still see in search results, StyleSend Clienteling, showed as not currently available on the Shopify App Store when we checked, so we have left it out.
Build vs. buy vs. lightweight
Three ways to get the three loops. Most brands pick wrong by defaulting to the middle option because it is the one with a sales rep.
Build on Shopify’s customer object
The Know loop is already built: customer notes, tags, metafields, and POS Pro attribution. A brand with a developer can add structured fields as metafields (size, preferred associate, last-contacted date), use Shopify Flow to tag customers who have not purchased in 90 days, and surface the result as a saved segment each associate works through. What you cannot reasonably build is the Reach loop — compliant SMS and WhatsApp sending with opt-in management is a product, not a weekend — or cross-channel attribution. Build makes sense when you have engineering, one or two locations, and a strong opinion about your own workflow. It fails when the associate has to open three tools to do one send.
Buy a clienteling CRM
Endear, BSPK, GettingKinder, or Tulip. You get all three loops in one place, mobile apps the floor will actually open, and a vendor whose roadmap is your roadmap. The cost is not only the subscription; it is the operating discipline the software assumes exists. A clienteling CRM is a system for managers to set outreach targets, assign books, and review attributed revenue weekly. Without that manager, the app becomes an expensive address book. Buy when you have a floor team and someone whose job includes reading the reports.
Lightweight: a personal shopper layer
For the DM-selling model, and for founder-led boutiques not ready for a CRM, the pragmatic stack is Shopify (or POS Pro) for the profile and a $7–$15 send tool for the shoppable page and the attribution. It is what we run ourselves. The trade is explicit: you keep your notes in Shopify’s customer record instead of a purpose-built profile, you send the link from your own phone instead of a compliant messaging console, and nobody is going to give you a per-associate leaderboard. In exchange, an associate or a stylist can be sending branded, trackable picks fifteen minutes after install for less than the cost of a single SMS overage bundle. The mechanics of that workflow — draft orders and private collections versus a dedicated link — are in our guide to sending personalized shoppable links on Shopify.
The decision rule we use: count locations and count people whose job includes outreach. Two or more locations, or four or more outreach people, and the coordination problem is real — buy a CRM, priced per location if you can get it. One location and one to three people, and the coordination problem is a group chat — start with POS Pro plus a send layer, and let the volume of sends tell you when to upgrade. No location at all — the send layer is the product, and a CRM is paying for a profile you will never open.
An illustrative clienteling workflow, end to end
Illustrative example, with invented but realistic numbers. Say a women’s apparel brand has two stores, four full-time associates, a $280 average order, and roughly 6,000 customer profiles with at least one purchase, of which about 1,400 have bought in the last twelve months. They run Shopify POS Pro at both locations ($178/month) and a clienteling CRM priced per location — on Endear’s model that is $350 per store, so plan on $700/month and confirm the multi-location rate with the vendor, since the pricing page does not publish a table.
- Capture at the register. POS Pro is set to require an email or phone at checkout. A customer buys a $420 camel coat in store; the associate attaches the sale to herself, and adds a note: “size 6, wanted the navy but we were out, travels to London in November.”
- The profile fills itself. The CRM syncs the order, the note, and the customer’s two earlier online orders into one timeline. The associate now owns this customer in her book; the other three associates see the customer exists but do not get her in their queue.
- The trigger fires. Six weeks later the navy coat is restocked. The app’s opportunity queue surfaces every customer whose notes or history mention that product or colour; this customer is near the top because her note says “navy.”
- The associate sends, not the brand. She assembles a five-item send — the navy coat, a scarf that goes with both, three pieces for a London trip — with a one-line note on each, and texts the shoppable link from the app under her own name. It takes four minutes because the products come from the live catalog.
- The customer buys online. That evening she orders the coat and the scarf, $560, from her phone. The order is an online order in Shopify — the register never sees it — but the CRM credits it to the associate because it followed her send within the attribution window.
- The loop closes. The associate sees which two of the five items converted and which three were ignored, the manager sees the sale in the associate’s attributed revenue, and the customer’s profile now says “bought the navy; skipped the trousers.”
Now the arithmetic, still illustrative. If each of the four associates works a book of 350 active customers and sends 40 personal messages a week — a realistic hour a day — that is 160 sends a week. At Tulip’s reported 11% average clienteling conversion, which we will use only because it is a published industry figure and not because your store will hit it, that is about 18 attributed orders a week; at the $280 average order it is roughly $4,900 a week, or a little over $21,000 a month in associate-attributed revenue against $878 of software. Even if the true conversion is a third of that, the tool pays for itself many times over. The number that actually decides the outcome is the 40 sends a week, which is an adoption problem, not a software one.
The same workflow in the lightweight stack, for a solo stylist with no store: the “profile” is the Shopify customer record plus the WhatsApp thread, the trigger is the stylist noticing the restock, the send is a CurateList page pasted into WhatsApp, the attribution is the list’s own revenue report, and the cost is $7 a month. Fewer moving parts, no queue telling her who to message, and exactly the same customer experience at the end of the link.
Rolling it out to associates
We have watched merchants install a clienteling app and get nothing from it, and the failure is almost never the software. Associates are paid to be on the floor; outreach is invisible work that competes with the customer standing in front of them. The rollout has to make it visible and paid.
- Pilot with your two best associates, not the whole team. They will hit the real friction in a week and tell you whether the app survives contact with a Saturday. Roll out to the rest with their scripts and their screenshots, not the vendor’s.
- Assign books explicitly. Every customer with a purchase in the last 24 months gets one owner, decided by who attributed the most recent sale. Unowned customers are a queue the manager assigns weekly. Two associates chasing the same customer is the fastest way to lose both the customer and the associates’ trust in the system.
- Put outreach on the schedule. A daily 45-minute block off the floor, first thing, with a target of sends rather than a target of sales. Sales lag sends by days; if you manage to sales, people stop sending on a quiet week, which is exactly the week to send.
- Give them reasons, not templates. A restock, a new arrival in their size, a birthday, a 90-day silence, a return that deserves a follow-up. Templates produce the messages customers ignore; reasons produce the ones they answer. The app’s job is surfacing the reason.
- Pay on attributed revenue, including online. If the online order that followed a text does not count toward the associate’s number, associates will stop texting and start holding items at the register instead. Cross-channel attribution is the compensation policy, not just a report.
- Review weekly, by associate, in ten minutes. Sends, replies, attributed orders, attach rate. The manager’s job is to notice the associate whose sends are high and conversions are low (message quality) versus the one whose sends are low (time), because the fix is different.
- Decide what happens when someone leaves. The book belongs to the store. Say so in writing before the first send, disable export, and reassign the book the day the associate gives notice — with a note to each customer from the new owner, sent within the week.
Measuring clienteling: attach rate, attributed revenue, reactivation
Three numbers tell you whether clienteling is working, in this order, because each one is a precondition for the next.
Attach rate
The share of transactions that have a customer profile attached. It is the foundation metric, because an anonymous sale generates no profile, no note, and no future outreach; every other clienteling number is capped by it. Measure it from Shopify’s retail sales reports by comparing orders with a customer to total POS orders, per location and per associate. In our judgment a floor that captures under half its transactions is not ready for a clienteling app, and the fix is procedural — POS Pro’s required-customer-details setting plus a script (“Can I text you the receipt?”) — before it is technical. Watch it weekly; it drifts down the moment nobody is looking.
Associate-attributed revenue
Revenue credited to a named associate, split into register-attributed (from POS Pro) and outreach-attributed (from the app, for orders that followed a send). Report both, because they answer different questions: register attribution measures who sells well on the floor; outreach attribution measures who is building a book. Two traps. First, double counting — if a customer buys in store after a text, do not let the app and the register both claim it; pick a rule (register wins if the associate is present) and apply it in the compensation plan. Second, the attribution window — a seven-day window and a thirty-day window produce very different numbers, so fix the window before you set targets, and do not change it mid-quarter.
Reactivation
The share of customers with no purchase in 90 or 180 days who buy within a window after outreach. This is the number that isolates clienteling’s incremental effect, because lapsed customers were, by definition, not going to buy anyway. Illustrative example: say a store has 900 customers silent for 90-plus days, the team reaches 600 of them over a month with a personal send, and 48 buy in the following 30 days — an 8% reactivation rate at, say, a $250 order, or $12,000 that was not going to arrive on its own. Compare it against the reactivation rate of the 300 you did not reach; that is your control, and it is the only honest way to separate “clienteling worked” from “October was good.”
Secondary numbers worth a line on the dashboard: reply rate on sends (message quality), items per attributed order versus the store average (curation quality), and the share of attributed orders closed with a discount code (margin discipline). If the last one creeps above a third, associates have learned that the code closes and the notes are becoming optional.
Common mistakes
The failures we see most often when brands buy clienteling software, including one we made ourselves before we built anything.
- Buying the CRM before fixing attach rate. An app synced to a customer base that is 60% anonymous has 40% of a business to work with. Turn on required customer capture, run it for a month, then buy.
- Comparing feature lists instead of pricing models. Every tool in the table has profiles, notes, and outreach. What separates a $700 month from a $64 month is per-location versus per-seat versus percentage-of-sales, applied to your real headcount. Model it at today’s size and at double.
- Letting the brand send what the associate should send. The moment “personal” messages go out from a central marketing seat with a merge field for the associate’s name, customers notice, and the reply rate tells you so. If nobody on the floor has time to send, the fix is scheduling, not automation.
- Sending screenshots instead of shoppable pages. Three product photos in a text with “let me know!” is the most common send in retail and the least convertible. The customer has to find the item, the variant, and the size on their own. Every tool here can attach a page the customer buys from; use it every time.
- Ignoring online orders in attribution. Register-only attribution rewards associates for keeping customers in the store and penalizes them for sending links. Within a quarter you will have a team that hides stock at the counter instead of texting. Credit the online order or do not bother with outreach at all.
- Closing every send with a code. A private, single-use code with an expiry is a legitimate clienteling tool. A code on every send is a permanent 15% markdown delivered by text, and your best customers learn to wait for it. Track the share of attributed orders that used a code, and set a ceiling.
- Treating the book as the associate’s property. Without written ownership, export controls, and a reassignment routine, every resignation takes a few hundred relationships out the door — and the CRM you paid for makes the export easier, not harder.
- Measuring sales before measuring sends. Sales lag sends by days and depend on stock, season, and the customer. Sends are the controllable input. Manage the input weekly; judge the output quarterly, against a held-out control group.
FAQ
What is a clienteling app for Shopify?
A clienteling app for Shopify is software that gives sales associates a per-customer profile built from Shopify POS and online order history plus their own notes, a way to contact that customer one-to-one by SMS, email, or WhatsApp with products they can buy from the message, and attribution that credits the resulting sale — in store or online — to the associate who sent it. Endear, BSPK, GettingKinder, and Tulip are the dedicated options on Shopify in 2026; Shopify POS Pro covers profiles, notes, and register attribution natively but has no outreach layer.
Does Shopify POS have built-in clienteling?
Partly. Shopify POS lets staff create customer profiles with staff-only notes, tags, marketing consent, and metafields, and every profile carries unified order history; with the POS Pro add-on ($89/month per location) you also get sales attribution to staff by whole sale or line item, staff roles and permissions, and the option to require customer details at checkout. What POS does not include is outbound messaging from the profile, associate-owned customer books, shoppable sends, or credit for online orders that follow an associate’s message — those are what dedicated clienteling apps add.
How much does clienteling software cost for a Shopify store?
As listed in September 2026: GettingKinder is $49–$64/month, Endear starts at $350/month per store location, BSPK’s plans start at $299/month on a custom quote, Boutiq runs $90–$900/month plus 2.5–3% of sales made through it, and Tulip is quote-only. Shopify POS Pro, the native base layer, is $89/month per location. A lightweight send-only tool such as CurateList is free to $15/month. The bigger variable is the pricing model — per location, per associate, or per revenue — so cost it at your own location and headcount before comparing.
What is the difference between clienteling and CRM?
A CRM stores customer data and usually sends one-to-many campaigns from the brand to segments. Clienteling uses that data for one-to-one, associate-initiated outreach that references something specific about the customer and credits the sale back to the associate. Most clienteling apps include a retail CRM underneath; most CRMs do not include clienteling, because they have no concept of an associate owning a customer or being credited for a sale.
Can I do clienteling on Shopify without store associates?
Yes, and many of the highest-converting users have no store at all: stylists, B2B reps, and concierge sellers working by text, WhatsApp, or DM. Without a POS transaction there is little for a full clienteling CRM to sync, so the practical stack is Shopify’s customer notes for the profile plus a personal shopper tool that turns your picks into a branded, shoppable page and reports which items converted. Graduate to a clienteling CRM when you add a second seller and need shared books and a queue.
Which Shopify clienteling app works with WhatsApp?
Endear lists email, SMS, and WhatsApp outreach on its App Store listing; BSPK lists WhatsApp, WeChat, Line, SMS, email, and a chat widget; Tulip’s Shopify Connector page lists email, SMS, WeChat, WhatsApp, voice, and video. GettingKinder’s listing names SMS and email only. CurateList does not send to WhatsApp itself — you paste the shoppable link into the thread — which works for solo sellers but is not a compliant multi-associate messaging console.
How do I measure whether clienteling is working?
Track three numbers in order: attach rate (share of transactions with a customer profile attached — the ceiling on everything else), associate-attributed revenue split into register-attributed and outreach-attributed with a fixed attribution window, and reactivation rate (share of customers silent for 90-plus days who buy within 30 days of a personal send). Compare reactivation against the lapsed customers you did not contact; that control group is the only way to separate clienteling’s effect from a good month.
Is CurateList a clienteling app?
No, and we built it, so we should be the ones to say so. CurateList is a personal shopper app: it handles the curated, branded, shoppable send and the per-list attribution, and nothing else. It has no customer profiles beyond list history, no Shopify POS integration, no associate seats or books, and no SMS or WhatsApp sending. For a floor team it belongs next to POS Pro or under a clienteling CRM; for a solo stylist or B2B rep it is usually the whole stack.
— Palm Beach Themes is a Miami-based Shopify app studio. We use the apps we sell, so every claim in this post comes from our own merchant testing.
If your clienteling gap is the send — turning “I picked these for you” into a branded page the customer can buy from, with a report of what landed — that is the one loop CurateList was built to close. Start on the free plan, send ten lists, and let the per-list revenue tell you whether the rest of the stack is worth buying.